The 2022 Nobel Prize for Literature awarded to French writer Annie Ernaux

The 2022 Nobel in Literature has been awarded to French writer Annie Ernaux. The 82-year-old writer is rewarded for “the courage and clinical acuity with which she discovers the roots, the distances and the collective constraints of personal memory”explained the Nobel jury.

The winner is known for The place, The Event or Years. His latest book, The young manin which she recounts a relationship with a man thirty years younger than her, was released in May 2022.

Before Annie Ernaux, the previous Frenchman to have received the Nobel Prize for Literature is Patrick Modiano. He received the prestigious award in 2014 “for the art of memory with which he evoked the most elusive human destinies and unveiled the world of the Occupation”.

Abdulrazak Gurnah honored in 2021

Last year, the Nobel Prize in Literature surprised by distinguishing a writer little known to Western readers, Abdulrazak Gurnah. He then rewarded the English-speaking Zanzibari novelist for his work illuminating the effects of colonialism, exile and the fate of refugees. The postcolonial studies teacher-researcher at the University of Kent, who has lived in the United Kingdom since his exile at the age of eighteen, is a specialist in the writers Wole Soyinka and Salman Rushdie.

The award ceremonies will continue on Friday October 7 with the Nobel Peace Prize, the only one to be awarded in Oslo. The Nobel Prize in Economics, a more recent creation, will close the ball on Monday, October 10.

Source link

Related posts

At the Cluny Museum, "a panorama" of Toulouse art in the 14th century


"Life", derailed lives


Between sound, color and light, Le Voyage à Nantes invites itself in winter


facing the worst, a fight for language

Sign up for our Newsletter and
stay informed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *